Saturday, October 13, 2007

Brave by Jennifer Lopez album review

This is the fifth English language studio album recorded by Jennifer Lopez and beyond any predetermined ideas it is not that bad. Her previous release which was named Rebirth lacked many things and the R&B act was not that good. She goes for a 70s/80s pop sound and manages to keep you listening to it. There are no tracks which are remarcable but they manage to keep things upbeat and interesting. This retro sound she goes for is an interesting choice.

But it is hard to expect greatness when she puts out an album. Her voice is not that good and the thing which makes the release charming is the beat she uses. She uses the sparkling jams to hide her vocal flaws which appear. She also sounds a bit weak and left behind but she does manage to salvage what could be salvaged and make the tracks; the kind of music that sounds good at first but then when you listen to it does not bring anything better. There is no substance to sustain her beat and “Mile in These Shoes,” as good as it sounds, is a testament to the big hypocrisy of Brave.

There are not so many things you could say about the tracks because they are as the artist puts it feel-good music. “Stay Together” opens and reminds of Beyoncé’s “Déjà Vu”. “Do It Well” is a pop-fast paced song similar to “Get Right” and “Hold It Don’t Drop It” is another strong track that thrives on its disco sound. “Forever” is bringing back something from the 80s and it sounds something like the slow-building funk epics that Timbaland has written. The track which stands out is “Mile in These Shoes.”; it is for the haters. It brings intrigue and mystery, but the chorus is filled with a hip-hop/rock barrage of drums which sound just like Janet. It does sound good but it is not that true because it talks about the standards we have and it does not fit her.

The tracks are not bad but something lacks; they just do not have the hook and they lose themselves. Some are a bit catchy but not that many. Her voice is not as good as she should to sing ballads and so she prefers this radio and club friendly mood.

Track Listing:

1. Stay Together
2. Forever
3. Hold It Don’t Drop It
4. Do It Well
5. Gotta Be There
6. Never Gonna Give Up
7. Mile In These Shoes
8. The Way It Is
9. Be Mine
10. I Need Love
11. Wrong When You’re Gone
12. Brave
13. Do It Well (Bonus Track Featuring Ludacris)

My Rating is 4.8 out of 5

You can buy Jennifer Lopez's "Brave" legally at Mp3Fiesta.

Digg Technorati Reddit Blinklist Furl Spurl Yahoo Simpy


Johnskibeat said...

Just found your blog. Love it! I do my own reviews - drop by, I'd love to swap links if that's okay.

Also, can you tell me how you get all those neat links at the bottom of your posts to Technorati etc.
I have links but I've been looking for a clever way of displaying them for aaaages.

StereoBalls said...

Thank you for the reviews!
I prefer to download legal mp3 and save money using one of the sites compared at Legal MP3 sites chart at Squidoo